Robert Redford: Protect Our Wild Horses

In response to the limited, uneven status quo of wild horses nowadays, Redford argues that the congress should do more to protect the Americans’ old friends, the ”useless” wild horses in his article ” Protect Our Wild Horses”. The author builds his convincing statement by making use of subtle personal anecdote, striking contrast, raw statistics, and appeal to pathos. After reading this cogent argument, most of his readers, me included, will find ourselves nodding along with the author’s own claim and not just because he is right.

Redford starts his argument off by employing his subtle personal experiences with his everyday friends, wild horses. Redford points out directly the reason for he writing this article. It is the “shared”, “personal”, and “professional” encounters that trigger him to stand up for the withering, trembling wild horses. Robert challenges his audience to remind of a time when wild horses are treated as precise gifts, when people have to count on wild horses to survive. To stir up his readers’ emotions, Redford upgrades the importance of preserving the wild horses to a whole new level-the protection of the America’s principles. Moreover, Redford unveils the heartbreaking, rigid fact that it is the “varied” and “subjective” interpretation of laws that leads to the current situation. By doing so, Redford gives his parties of readers a whole picture of this issue and sets up an efficient lead-in to the rest of the passage.

Redford moves his argument by utilizing the striking, potent contrast and accurate, credible statistics. Redford unravels this heartfelt fact that the total acres of our public lands is 245 million, with 155 million acres used to graze livestock; however, merely 26.9 million acres are permitted to wild horses. What a shame! In addition, the population of wild horses varies between 32,000 and 50,000; rather, that of livestock grazing allocation is in the millions! By utilizing the powerful contrast, Redford reveals the “uneven playing filed” on the land management and population. Redford urges the readers to realize that wild horses are at stake and it is time to do something more for our old friends. To give his audience the hope to enhance this situation, Redford assures his readers that wild horses can be no harm to our grazing land because technology today can redress the negative impacted by wild horses, which has been ignored by decades of inaccurate, biased propaganda. By doing so, Redford lends support to his own claim and draw the readers’ attention to the heart of this issue.

To build a bridge to the deep mind of his readers, Redford, like any other good author, takes use of appeal to self-interest. Redford mentions the irrefutable fact that though less than 3% of America’s beef is produced domestically, taxpayers, most of his readers, him included, have to pay more 123 million dollars per year for the subsidized grazing program! Redford dares his readers to think that if we can spend so much on “fruitless” agricultural communities, why cannot we give a helping hand to our old friends? why cannot we do something to save the fading western spirit? why cannot we just treat the horses fairly?

In conclusion, writhing as a reaction to the endangered wild horses, Redford argues that people should do more to help the horses. Redford builds this intellectual essay by employing subtle personal episodes, compelling contrast, appeal to self-interest, and raw, credible statistics.