150. The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter, the author recommends that a client needs to invest in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil. Although this recommendation may seem convincing at first, the lack of answers leads me to conclude that the argument is invalid on many grounds.

First, the author needs to answer the question of whether the region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures means that it was freezing all over the winter. The author assumes that the pattern of northeastern winter weather, experiencing twenty days with below-average temperatures, will continue this year and in the future because the local weather forecasters predict that this tendency will continue. However, it is possible that the pattern of last year is temporary and may not continue in the long run. And also, the weather forecast does not equate to the actual weather. Although the weather forecasters intend that the winter’s weather pattern will continue for the future, it may not do so. The author also assumes that the northeast may have experienced cold weather during the last winter except for those twenty days. However, it is possible that except the twenty days, most days of the last winter in the northeast experienced quite high temperatures. Even it might be above-average temperatures.

Second, the author does not answer the question of whether the demands of heating oil will increase due to the many new homes which were built in the northeast. The author assumes that the new homes will use oil as their major fuel for heating as existing houses, but in reality, they may not. They may have installed different types of heating facilities, especially in more eco-friendly ways. It is because there could be long feared to be contaminated by the using of oil for heating. And the author supposes that the number of total houses in the northeast might be increased by building the new homes. Although many houses have been built during the past year, the total number of houses in the region may decrease if much more existing houses have been demolished. Therefore, even there are much of newly built houses, it does not mean that the demands of heating oil will increase in this region.

Third, even if the demand for heating oil is forecast to increase, one might question whether it is appropriate to invest in Consolidated Industries. The author’s recommendation is based on that Consolidated Industries is a large portion of the heating oil supply of the United States. However, the author does not mention how much Consolidated Industries occupies the supply of heating oil in the nationwide. If there are more primary providers for the heating oil than Consolidated Industries, a client might not be earned profits from investing Consolidated Industries.

Lastly, the author assumes that the tendency of the northeast can be generalized to nationwide. The northeast cannot be equivalent to the United States as a whole. The author says that because in the northeast, the last winter was so cold and the winter’s weather pattern will continue and there were many houses built recently, therefore the demands of heating oil will increase. However, firstly, other regions, such as the south or the west, may be experiencing too warm winters to use heating facilities. Secondly, they might use other resources for heating such as coal, woods, etc. Lastly, the regions may be experiencing a sharp decline in housing, therefore demand for heating oil may also decrease.

In conclusion, the author’s recommendation is unsound on many grounds. In order to strengthen the recommendation, the author should provide specific evidence of increasing demand for heating oil in nationwide.