In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Childhood obesity is on rise in society today, but weather it is because of a change of hormones in cows is debatable. In the argument that a new hormone is the reason for the 200 percent rise in childhood obesity, the author concludes that the new hormone introduced in Jalikistan to the cows is the cause in new found childhood obesity. The author bases this on the childhood 200 percent increase in obesity during the same time the new hormone was injected into the cows. Due to unsupported evidence, the argument is not conclusive.

A viable alternative to the explanation is if the cows were doing anything at all different from what they normally do. The author failed to consider if there was something else mixed into the cows daily activities that had changed. additional evidence about what else the cows activities is needed. If the cows are use to grazing all day, and since the hormones were introduced they are not be able to do that, this could offer conflicting support and be the reason obesity is increasing.

It is implied that the children's daily activities have not changed during this time. The author failed to consider if before the hormones were given to the cows that is was summer in Jalikstan and children were playing outside, getting regular physical excersie. Additional specifics about the children's level of activity before and after the hormones were given is needed. If winter approached as the milk changed, and children stayed inside more, then this could rival the argument.

Without alternative explaniations the authors argument is not persuasive. Other factors could be the reason as to why the obesity in children rose 200 percent during the change in milk.