the following appeared in a letter to the director of the department fo motor vehicles:

"The use of cell phones while driving is a source of great concern to the community, particularly to parents with young children. Teenage drivers, who are the most likely to text or talk on the phone while driving, are among the most dangerous. In out county alone there were 75 fatalities from traffic collisions. If we raise the legal driving age from 16 to 20, thr problem would largely be solved because the most dangerous drivers would no longer be on the road."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument provided in a letter to the Director of the Department of Mother Vehicales is it concluded that if the legal age to drive was raised from 16 to 20, the use of cell phones while driving would be largely solved. The author bases this conclusion on teenagers being the most dangerous drivers. The author failed to consider how many people over the age of 20 text while driving, adding to this problem. Due to unsupported evidence, however, the argument is not logically persusave. More information is needed to evaluate this prediction.

The letter states that in our county alone there were 75 fatalities from traffic collisions. The author implies that these were from teenage drivers that were texting, but we do not know if this is true or not, and offers no direct support for this. Evidence as in the age of the drivers, what the reason for the crash was, and if a cell phone was involved would be needed to elvauate this statement.

The author fails to consider if texting and driving was legal or illegal. At one time people using cell phones while driving was never a problem because cell phones did not exist. One question that needs to answered is when this letter was sent. Was texting and driving illegal at the time? If not, would making it against the law fix the problem rather than raising the driving age?

To strengthen this argument, addition evidence about whether or not teenage drivers are really the most likely to text or talk on the phone while driving. Where did this statistic come from? Are teenage drivers the most dangerous? The author assumes a lot of information but has no prof behind the statements. If these accusations are true, evidence will need to be provided.

Without answers to these specific questions, the argument and prediction in this letter are both not persusave. Additional evidence is needed to concluded that raising the driving age would solve the cell phone usage problem while driving.