the following memorandum is from the media director of the althlectic deparment at burtsdale University:

"We have seceded to recommend that the school no longer offer free student access to University athletic events, regardless for level, sport, or gender of the participants. Out policy in the past has been to sell tickets only to events with significant popularity, such as men's Division 1 football and basketball games, and other nationally televised events. Although other sports do not typicall sell out, or generate the same level of interest outside the student body, we feel it is unfair to Divison 2 sports and the women's teams to not charge admission to their events as well. Charging admission to all events is the only way to treat all athletic teams equitably"

Write a response in which you describe what specific examples or evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and how those examples would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the Media Director of the Athletic Department, it states that the school will no longer offer free student access to University athletic events that they previously did. It is concluded that it is only fair to charge for all athletic events and not just men’s Division 1 football and basketball. The conclusion is based on how the Athlethic Department assumes other athlets in Division 2 sports and the women feel about students getting free admission to their games. However, the argument is not logically persuasive. More information is needed to evaluate the memorandum.

The Media Director assumes that all players feel that students gaining free admission to some, and not all, sporting events is unfair. Do the players care? Does free admission allow for more students to be able to attend these games? The outlook from the players actually in these games is needed. This could weaken the argument if the students want their fellow peers to be able to attend their games for free. Given we do not have the answers to these questions, more information is needed.

The Director fails to consider that since there is already a decreased level of interest in women’s and Division 2 sporting events, if this new rule will create less of a crowd for these events. One question that is important to address is if anyone attend these games if admission is not free. Evidence for if a massive drop in attendance will follow is needed. Specific numbers are needed on how many people that attend these games are not a part of the student body and pay for a ticket, verses how many receive free admission.

Without additional evidence the Media Directors argument is weakened greatly. Without answers and examples to the specific questions provided the Media Director at Burtsdale University should not continue with this memorandum.