Since road construction on I-72 has begun, we've noticed that parents are picking up their children after the center is officially closed. Effective immediately, parents who pick up their children more than five minutes after closing will have to pay a $10 fee. Parents who pick up their children more than one hour after closing will be subject to an additional $30 fee. We predict this will encourage parents to leave earlier form work to pick up their children on time each day.

Happy Sun Happy Moon daycare is arguing that parents are to late picking their children up from day care and that having fines in place will encourage an earlier arrival. As a parent with children in daycare, I would ask the question of how this is possible. As hour late would warrant being late, five minutes would not. Traffic and road work sometimes do not allow for a prompt arrival daily. Also, would this new idea turn parents away from keeping or choising this daycare for their children?

Although parents should pick up children from daycare at the time previously established, sometimes extra matters get in the way. Unforeseen traffic is one matter that needs to be addressed. While the author assumes there will be traffic on I-72, they do not take into consideration the other parts of road which could have new traffic or a wreck. Leaving work every day at the same time, parents could still have a run in with something making them minutes late. More research would be needed to see if having fines would in turn even get parents to make it on time.

The daycare implies that all parents will still keep their children at Happy Sun Happy Moon with these extra fines. Given that most parents do not want to pay extra, it is an option that some children will go to another daycare. The facility needs to ask itself if the few minutes of staying over is worth the potential of having some kids leave as a result. The recommendation needs to be evaluated futher to see how likely it will produce the response wanted.

These extra questions would need to be answered before placing this fine on all parents who are minutes late receving their child from daycare. Is it worth it? Would these extra fines even get parents to the facility on time considering there could be something else keeping them? More evidence is needed to pursuay the readers that the fines will even make a difference.