In the argument that raw foods containing antioxidants and supplemental antioxidants work differently, the author concludes that a raw food diet will decrease ones chance at getting a cold. However, there is unsupported evidence and assumptions that make the argument unpersuasive. More information is needed to promote this theory.

The author assumes that difference in antioxidant source is the only difference and must be the explanation as to why one group had a decline in catching the cold. To strengthen this argument, additional evidence about the two different groups is needed. Health experts fail to consider the diversity in the different groups. It is implied that the two groups are filled with the same aged people and heath histories, but there is no direct support of this. If one group was filled with middle aged people who have minimal health issues and the opposing group was filled with people over the age of 65 with extensive health problems this would change the correlation.

It is also implied that the group using antioxidant supplements were eating and doing healthy things. The author failed to consider if this group was only eating unhealthy food while not taking care of themselves. There would need to be more proof of how else this group who had no change in their chance of getting the cold, were living their lives to increase the argument.

Without additional evidence the argument is not persuasive. It is unknown if people who have a raw food diet and people who take supplemental antioxidants differ in their chance of catching a cold.