Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument deals with the Arctic deer in the islands of Canada’s arctic regions and the effect of global warming on their survival. The author has reached to the conclusion that the deer population is decreasing since they are not able to migrate to other islands owing to the increase in global warming. However, there is not enough evidence to reach this conclusion and along with global warming having an effect, several other factors need to be considered.

Firstly, the author has relied on the report from local hunters to say that the deer populations are declining. However, we do not know anything about the credibility of the numbers they have reported. Instead, a report from a reputed organisation who is known to record accurate numbers should have been considered. For stronger evidence, other people who live in and around the district could have been asked for their view on the decreasing number of deer in the area. If their opinions match with that of the hunters, it is safe to say that the author's argument will be strengthened.

Secondly, there is no fact here which shows that global warming has caused the resources, which are necessary for survival, to diminish. It is true that global warming may have caused the ice to melt making it difficult for the animals to migrate but in the end what living organisms depend on for their survival is water and food, not the fact that whether an animal is able to cross from one island to another. If the increasing temperature gives a good opportunity for plants to grow out and deer could feed on them without starvation, the severe impact of weather will be in great doubt and the author's argument will be weakened.

Thirdly, the declining rate of deer could be as a result of deer’s hunting. We are unaware of the policies of the government in that region regarding hunting. We are also do not know about the perspective of the people living there about hunting. Since the deer are unable to migrate, it is likely that they must have settled on the same island making it easier for the hunters to locate them.

Finally, to sum up, the author has based his assumption on inaccurate information. Therefore, the result that global warming is the main reason for decreasing deer population is not logically sound and more proofs are needed to get to a proper conclusion.