Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Global warming although being a very real life-threatning problem in the recent decades, it cannot be concluded that this may be the sole reason for the decline in the numbers of Arctic deers. The logic the author put up was not cogent and pertinent with the problem and seems to be based on falacies. A much stronger and coherent logic would have made the argument much stronger for the author.

Firstly, the report was given by hunters who hunt wild animals for money, food or sometimes just for fun. Hunting is a very common hobby in Canada and people can very commonly shoot deers for their recreation. The whole story about global warming putting an effect on Arctic deers may be just a play for them. Their histrionic reaction cannot be mistaken for the fact that they may be the sole reason for the low number of Arctic deers. It can be very easy and mostly convincible story to put the blame on global warming but this cannot fully believed without proper investigation.

Secondly, even if we not consider the first logic, the local reports of the hunters are not scientific. It is a very common trend of animals to migrate to a better land with warmth and food. Such is the case for Arctic deers and it can be very easily misunderstood by the hunters to be mistaken for reduction in number of deers. Also, the counting method may not be correct and they can just be giving opinion based on what they actually saw. It might have been a very cold day and the animals might have stayed inside a den for warmth or they may have just moved somewhere else for food. It cannot be concluded that the local reports are accurate unless there is a proper scientific way it has been done.

Finally, global warming may not actually affect Canada’s arctic regions. They can get very cold even in the summer days. Also, since the deers look for warmth themselves, it cannot be the reason for their decline. For what we can assume that there might be more food available for them if the ice melts. Global warming thus may not play a role for their reduction. And even if it does, it cannot be decided that this affects the Arctic regions of Canada.

In conclusion, although the author tried to give a good amount of reasoning to the fact but they were not perspicacious and lacked proper coherence. It would have been a stronger argument with proper proof of reports that have been claimed by the hunters. Also it has to be properly investigated whether the reports were actually true or were just a façade to hide the crimes of the hunters.