Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The assumption that arctic deer live on arctic islands and depend on the ice cover of the sea is flawed for many reasons. It could be very much possible that the deer could also live on the northern parts of mainland Canada, where they would have ample supply of plants they survive upon.

The argument assumes the deer population has reduced, based on the reports of local hunters which cannot be considered as a reliable source, It’s likely that the local hunters reported this dip in population during mating season when deer might move into more remote parts of the region.

It is not very clear the extent to which the deer depend on the ice cover over the sea, the Arctic “islands” that the author speaks of here could be large enough to sustain a considerable deer population throughout the year.

Finally, the author correlates the dip in population to the recent global warming reports. Although this could be one of the reasons, there could also be a variety of other factors such as, a recently conducted open hunting season, or a new predator introduced to the region. If the ice cover over the sea is indeed melting, this cloud mean that the deer are confined to a smaller area of land, which makes them more easily accessible to predators.

More substantial evidence from reliable surveys with regards to the declining deer population and its correlation with global warming patterns needs to be available before coming to any sort of conclusions. If the population is indeed declining, then it needs to be understood, if the deer are dying of disease, or if they are being excessively hunted, or they are being preyed upon by any newly introduced predators to the region.