argument

In this memo, the manager of NAV TV claims that to overcome the decrease in the potential audience of its news channel, they should rather switch to pop and rock format. To support his claim, he has given an evidance of the national wide survey about the increase in proclivity towards the same music format. Close scrutiny of the evidance leads little credible support, which render it unconviencing as it stands.

To begin with, the news channel's viewership decreased even with increase in population. This clearly means that the audience who were actually watching this station before switched to another one, thus leading to a clear indication that the quality of the news shown might have fallen down. It has nothing to do with the format of stations' display but rather to do with the quality of display. However, if the manager would have provided some evidance about the quality being constant, the claim would have been stronger.

Secondly, switching to a form of music entertainment channel makes them vulnerably dependent on one category of age group. This can actually lead to decrease in the already existing viewership. This step can lead to devastating result if the craze towards pop and rock music declines. The channel might suffer from a loss on both ends, i.e. the news format and the music format. The manger must provide some supporting article that makes sure that its already existing audience won't suffer with his proposal.

Finally, the manager fails to provide enough evidance as to if switching from news to music will definitely make their audience increase. Had the manger provider more supporting data towards the same the memo would have made more impact. There is no evidance to prove that music channels are not suffer the same fate as the news channel in the recent time.

To sum it all, I would like to say that I rather stand paranoid about the mangers decision. To bolster his claim he has to provide more substantial evidance and rather more illustrations about the same.