movies

The speaker claims that most of the mass budget films made today are mere box office collection stunt, which is why the government has to intervene and fund some intellect and thought enhansing films. However, there have been some mass budget films that appeal to the masses in a subtle though effective manner. I strongly agree with the speaker's standpoint. My proclivity towards the same has been justified with relevent examples in the ensuing paragraphs.

The primary reason why I see eye to eye with the spaker is that most of films today invest a ton of money in the starcast and location of shoot and just a handful in story lineup. For example, movies like 'Houseful' spent almost 100 crores on its starcast that consisted of 6 well known movie tycoons. This movie had the sole purpose of entertainment without any effect on the thinking process of the people watching it. Another good illustration is the movie 'Yamla Pagla Diwana' which challenged the human brain in only the downward diretion without a scope of any enlightenment whatsoever. To the surprise of every movie critic these movies earn handsomely in the screens as well making more incentive for the movie producers to do the same in the coming years.

Secondly, I would like to point out that movies like 'Newton' which deal with the fact of the low voter count in many backward region of the nation receive as little as none attention in the box office. Another good example for the same is the award winning movie 'Aligarh' which made its name as the best movie for self awareness in and ot of nation gained little support for the veiwers. The movie was supported by the government to help it promote and gain some limelight in the veiwer market.

On the contrary, some might say that there have been some commercial movies which challenged the though process of the masses in its out way. Movies like 'Ek tha Tiger' which stared the most sensetional movie star of all times Mr. Salman Khan. This movie not just did amazingly in the box office but also unknowingly made people all around the world respect their country's soldiers. Similarly there have been many movies like 'Holiday', 'Tiger zinda hai', etc. which has affected the thought process of masses massively.

Thus in a nutshell, I strongly beleive that the commercial movies if not all but most targetted to masses and hardly seem intellectual. This makes it really necessary for the government to intervene and fund some intellectual movies.