Claims made by advertising director of movie company stating that increased advertising will increase number of people watching the movies.

The recommendation made by the advertising director of the production company is to increasing the advertising budget. By doing this he/she hopes that the company will be able to reach the public and thus the public will come to watch its movies in greater. Although this seems like a logical way to mitigate the company's problem, the recommendation is based on a number of unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore fundamentally flawed.

First, the author (the director in this case) states that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased. Although this seems to be a good sign, there is no mention of the demographic or the number of reviewers that rated the movie. It is possible that out of only 10, 7 reviewers really liked the movies whereas in the previous year, out of 100 reviewrs, aroung 60 of them liked the movies. Although this gives an increase in the percentage of positive reviews for the movies, it doesn't mean that the quality of movies has increased. It could be that the particular set of reviewers enjoyed the movie, but as a whole, the movie contents are worse off than the previos year and thus less people watched their movies. Or it is also possible that the company makes movies about very serious issues and are thus liked by reviewers but not appreciated by the general public. For example biographies about historical people are often rated highly by critics but very rarely a commercial success. Therefore, to reach any conclusion we need to know more about the people who rated the movies of the company as well as the kind of movies made by the company along with the genre of movies generally preferred by the public.

The recommendation made by the director also assumes that the only reason that people aren't coming to watch their movies is due to the fact that the company is not able to reach most of its audience. It is possible that there may be external factors, such as increased competition by other films which release at the same time, which influence the audience's choices. The viewers could be forced to choose between multiple movies, which eventually cuts into the viewership share of the company's movies. Additionally, it is possible that the current economic situation of the country is not very favourable, which means that fewer people would actually come and watch movies in general. Thus, these factors can also affect the number of people spending their money to watch movies produced by Super Screen and need to be studied in order to figure out if the suggestion made by the advertising director holds any merit.

Furthermore, the director says that allocating a greater share of its budget to advertising will help it reach a majority of the public and thus increase the number of moviegoers for their movie. Although it makes sense that if the advertising efforts are increased, the public will be more aware about their films, there is no evidence to support the fact that users will actually go and watch the movies. It is also possible that alloting more funding to advertising cuts into the production budget for the movie itself which in turn diminishes the quality of the film. This would be inimical to the goal of the company which is to increase its viewership numbers and thus the recommendation would only be helpful if we can make sure that the quality is not adversely affected by reduced funding.

To sum it up, while increasing the portion of the company's budget to advertising seems like a sound plan on paper, the assumptions that it is based upon are not backed up by sufficient evidence. Due to this, the recommendation made by the advertising direcor of Super Screen Movie Production Company is not reasonable.