Space exploration

In the opinion of the author of the argument provided, the author states that the country's recourses should be invested in unmanned space flight. Although this argument seems logical at first, it is based on a number of unstated assumptions and thus, the argument is flawed.

The first point on which the writers bases his/her argument is the fact that manned space flight is costly. While this fact might be true, there is no mention about how much unmanned space missions cst. Perhaps the difference is negligible and thus it might not make a huge monetary difference to send a couple of astronauts into space. Even if we assume that manned space missions are much costlier than their unmanned counterparts, a cost-benefit analysis is a must. If the presence of scientists on board of a space shuttle results in obtaining a much greater amount of information then perhaps it is more useful to invest in manned space missions and reduce the frequency of such missions in order to reduce costs.

The argument also mentions that space flights are dangerous but it does not elaborate upon this point. Any exploratory mission is bound to be a little risky, but the fact is that there is little to no evidence to point out the fact that space missions are riskier than say underwater exploratory missions. The author further goes on to claim that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes lends support to his recommendation to replace manned missions with unmanned ones. But there is no montion of what 'success' actually means. Perhaps the recent missions were just to gather atmospheric information or their goal was to explore Mars. Such missions might favour unmanned probes over sending astronauts with them. Nevertheless, humans are required for a number of other space missions such as repair and maintainance of existing satellites, manning of the International Space Station (ISS), etc. Therefore without knowing much about the details and goals of the series of unmanned missions, it is not right to conclude that unmanned space flights are the way to go.

Another important issue that needs to be addressed is the question of whether there are other issues that need investment. Although space exploration is an important issue, it's need is superceded by issues such as poverty, water shortage, draughts and other natural disasters. Perhaps the country is going through a tough economic period or perhaps there is a large portion of the population which is affected by poverty. This would mean that money and manpower is better off being invested to address the immediate needs of the people. The author says that the country's resources should be invested in unmanned space flight without addressing whether space exploration is actually needed.

Therefore, although the author makes a suggestion that seems right, he/she is unable to prove that spending resources in unmanned exploration will outweigh the advantages gained by spending our resources to send humans into space instead.