Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

The claim that the best way to teach leadership qualities to the current generation is to instill in them a sense of cooperation instead of a sense of competition is something that I agree with. Cooperation essentially means working together effectively and is an important quality that leaders should possess.

Although people usually view cooperation as a sign of weakness in a human being, it helps us learn from one another. Through constant collaboration, future leaders can try and learn a lot of valuable lessons from others' experiences. For example, a captain of a football team could provide better insight about how to approach a potential cup final if he had talked to the senior players or former captains of the team who have played such type of matches before. Instead, had he tried to approach the game with a know-it-all attitude and just tried to outdo former captains (in order to appear to be the best captain), the team performance could suffer as a whole.

Leaders should also aim to motivate their subordinates to perform better. A leader who rises through the ranks by only being fiercly motivated by competition will often not guide his subordinates in a conducive manner. And thus, instead of improving the quality of the organization as a whole, the leader will only work towards his/her personal goals. By working with others, we also learn to appreciate the point of view of a person with an opposing view which often motivates us to look at our opinions with critique. It is often seen that people who are always competing with each other tend to cut corners in order to gain an advantage - whether it be in completing a task before the deadline or in doing more work than required in order to gain favors among their superiors.

Further, most of the great leaders in history have achieved their goals through cooperation instead of competition. As seen in the Indian freedom movement, Mahatma Gandhi helped India attain freedom by uniting different parts of the country to work towards their common goal of gaining independence. Being a diverse country, people in different areas all had their own agendas and had they started competing with one another, the failure of this movement would have been inevitable. They were brought together by Gandhi, who instilled in them the importance of working together and how collaborating with others will almost always lead to success.

Nonetheless, a little competition is also helpful as humans are a competitive species by nature. Competing with other people is a strong motivating factor for most and this helps them achieve their potential. The issue with competion is that often people get sucked into a hole and spend their entire lives trying to outdo other; instead of looking at the big picture of things.

Therefore, to sum it up, preparing youngsters for leadership in different fields such as government, industry, etc. should be done by motivating them to learn how to cooperate with others instead of trying to turn everything that they do into a competition.