Physical difference between men and women

While it is true that men and women have inherent physical differences, this fact does not mean that women and men are not equally suited for many tasks. Although there are a few areas of work; such as the lifting of heavy materials; that favor men over women due to the fact that the average male is usually stronger than the average female, generalizing a large number of tasks based on these cases is not right.

Most of the tasks performed by our species make more use of our brainpower than our actual physical strength. Academics related such as solving scientific problems and mathematical equations require a person to be intellectual. There is no evidence that supports the assumption that men are generally smarter than women or vice-versa. For example, Albert Einstein and Marie Curie are 2 renowned, nobel-prize winning scientists and are accepted as two of the smartest humans to hae ever lived. The question of which gender they belong to is rarely, if ever pondered upon.

There is no doubting the fact that men have more raw strength then women in general. Although this makes them suitable to perform strenous tasks which involve heavy lifting and manual labour, it doesn't mean women are unable to perform these tasks. Such physical differences can often be overcome by smart work and innovation. We often see women working in factories and construction sites. Even though the men working in those factories are probably stronger, in this technologically advanced age, hardly any of the exhausting work is done by humans. Due to the fact that almost every task is performed using the help of human operated machines such as cranes and bulldozers, there should be no issue with women operating these machines and working in such fields.

Nevertheless, one common task that is assumed to be more suitable to be performed by women is that of raising children. Although there is a biological reason for why women are very important in the nourishment of their child, it does not necessarily mean that men cannot perform this job equally well. In the last 20-30 years, we have seen a rise in the numbers of single fathers and stay-at-home dads who do a superb job in making sure their children are tended to. While the inherent physical differences might make performing such tasks harder, this disadvantage can be overcome without too much difficulty. Similarly, women are usually said to be more suitable to perform tasks such as cooking, knitting, etc. although evidence suggests that these tasks can be performed by men just as well.

Therefore, I do not agree with the claim that one gender is more suited for some jobs over others. Most of this division of tasks like the examples mentioned above are usually due to the fact that these tasks have historically been performed by either men or women. But the author's claim is not backed up by real world evidence and the fact remains that all healthy humans are equally capable of performing any task given to them.