The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument, the council of Maple County addresses it’s concern over the county being overdeveloped and assumes the prevention of development of existing farmland will solve its dilemma. But the council assumes two things here: first, viewing the County becoming overdeveloped as a conundrum and second, limiting the supply of new housing will prevent their problem. These two assumptions give rise to various questions, which if not answered will seriously damage the County’s future.

Firstly, the Council deems the county as overdeveloped. Why is the overdevelopment of the County a problem? The Council doesn’t shed any light to how the County is being overdeveloped. What are the problems that are being faced by the County with the overdevelopment? How is it affecting the inhabitants? How many of the people residing there see this as a threat? The argument needs to answer these questions so as to make clear the fundamentals of the argument for better decision making.

Furthermore, the argument mentions that to prevent this ‘overdevelopment’, one should limit the supply of housing, which in turn could increase the housing prices significantly. The argument’s proponents cite references of other Counties such Chestnut and Pine Counties for this purpose. They mention that the chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago and housing prices haven’t increased only modestly. The argument fails to take into factor that the housing prices that were present ten years ago would be significantly different from now. The social, geographical, etc. factors have also changed dramatically since then. Comparing situations to ten years back could also lead to erroneous predictions which would prove to be harmful for the future. Likewise, for Pine County, which has in the last fifteen years ago surged dramatically to be twice compared to then. The argument doesn’t provide the convincing evidence such as environmental and social factors which could have boomed the prices. For example, Pine county in the last fifteen years ago would have went on to become a major attraction point to a lot of industries; this would it an ideal location to live in considering the abundance of employment options.

Additionally, the Council assumes that preventing the development of farmlands is the only way to stop overdevelopment. Are there no other options available? Can only limiting housing supply help solve the issue? Maybe the housing supply is a constant source of income to a lot of residents and stemming its development would lead the decline in growth of the County.

In summary, to be fully be able adopt the measure provide by the Council of Maple County, the former needs to answer several questions that would clarify a lot of things and give a clearer picture for taking such significant decisions. The council provides little information in favor of its arguments for us to believe in its practicality. Any decision taken towards the County needs to be thoroughly assessed whilst taking in consideration all positive and negative factors along with proper evidence/ facts. Only then one could put trust in the Council’s decision.