The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework whereas in the district of Marlee most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no

As the argument asserts, a report shows that two districts assigned different loads of homework to their students, one on a daily basis and the other about two or three weekly. Surprisingly, the second group with less assignments, showed better function in the exams. The author guesses that the more time dedicated to each homework is the key to this finding and concludes that schools should assign less homework to the students in order to gain better results. This argument is flawed since it shows a lack of evidence which would be elaborated in this essay.

First of all, the quality of the exams taken by two districts is opaque. As this quality must be the same in order to compare the students of two sample groups fairly. For instance, if the exam taken by the Sanlee's students, is harder than the one taken by Marlee's students, the better marks of the Marlee's students might not be a sufficient evidence for their superiority. Therefore, this is suggested that the same exam would be taken from two sample groups in the same conditions.

Furthermore, the authors assumption about the time assigned for doing each homework seems fallacious for several reasons. Firstly, we should acertain if the students do their homework correctly, because if so, it proves that the Sanlee's students did not experience a lack of time in doing their assignments. Secondly, we should estimate the appropriate time needed to do each homework, since if one day is enough for doing each one, then the idea of time mentioned by the author would be meaning less.

Thirdly, this is essential to observe what other activities the students do in their free time, when they are not doing assignments. Since there are some other activities which help enhancing their science and math skills, more than assignments do. And finally, the quality of the homework given to each sample group is important, are the types of the asingnment questions the same or different? are they more practical or not? since the results that the homework have on the student's mindset is much more important that the homeworks themselves.

In conclusion, from my personal stand point, it seems that the data reported from two sample groups should be collected in standard and identical circumstances between two different districts. This data should include the quality of the assignments rather than their quantity, as well as the quality of exams taken to find out the results. on the other hand the time assigned to each homework and their activities during their free time, as well as the correctness of their homework answers, are three other information that might help them a lot in order to make a reasonable conclusion based on the resulted data.