Decline Population

The arguer concludes that the city will have sufficient funds to sponsor city facilities and support adult programs. The claim is based on the decline in the birthrate. The argument does hold some valid assertions, however, it rests on three unjustified assumptions, which unless substantiated, make the claim unpersuasive.

Firstly, the argument is based on the assumption that the number of students is directly proportional to the birthrate. It is true that the population of a town influences the population of students in school. However, thats not the only determining factor. Students from other towns could also be enrolled at the school. It is possible that the schools have a large number of students from other cities, thereby increasing the population of students. Even if the number of people in the city is declining, the population in schools will remain high if the significant number of students are from other towns. This possibility strongly weakens the arguments assumption.

Secondly, the arguments unjustifiably assumes that the population is still on a decrease based on the previous year’s statistics. The data provided shows that the population decreased by half from five years ago, as of last year. yet, no information has been provided showing statistics of the current year. Changes in population are caused by many factors. For example disasters, wars. It is possible that the city experienced a calamity that caused the population to decrease in the previous years. It is also possible that those factors no longer affect the city. In this case, the downward trend in the number of people in the city is likely to be reversed.

Finally, the author, being of the view of reducing funding of athletic fields, is assuming that only young people use the fields. Athletic fields are constructed for recreational purposes. In most cities, all kinds of people access these fields to exercise. There is no evidence provided proving the assumption that only young people use these fields. Even if the population is truly declining, the older generation likely use the same recreational facilities.

In Conclusion, the argument rests on unproven assumptions that the number of students will reduce due to the decrease in populations, the recreational fields are only being used by younger generation, and that the population is decreasing at the same rate as of last year. In order to put the argument on a more sound footing, the author needs to provide evidence that the number of students in school is directly proportional to the towns population by showing that the majority of the students are from within the town. The arguer must also show that the recreational athletic fields are never used by the older people by showing statistics of the age groups of people who visit the athletic fields.