Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

In this argument, the author claims that the academic honor code, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic environment and to notify their faculty if they suspect that others have cheated are efficient to prevent cheating in exam. To support her argument, the author cites a case of Groveton College which introduced the honor code few years ago, In ABC College, after introducing the code and discontinuing the old-fashioned system that the teachers monitor their students, students reported 21 cases of cheating 7 years ago. After two years the students reported fourteen. Recently, a survey about the number of cheating indicates that there is no more cheating among the students. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the fact that the number of reported cheating in the college have decreased, the author hastily assumes that that is because of introducing the code. However, the case could not be result from the code. For example, admission of new students who have higher morality could be cause of this case or simple change of composition of students could be reason. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, even if we admit this case is because of introducing the code, there is another problem. Based on the fact, 30 cases of cheating were reported on average before the code introduced and the number of cheating which were reported have decreased after the code introduced, she assumes that the decreased number of cheating which have been reported are meaningful effect. However, this could not be true. For example, if the overall number of students have decreased, the number of cheating per a person could increase. Until she give us scientific data which shows that the number of cheating per a person has actually decreased, this argument is not cogent.

Thirdly, even if we admit other problem is true, this argument has another critical problem. Based on the fact that the number of cheating which were reported has decreased, she wrongly presumes that the number is credible. However, it could not be true, For example, the code mandates the report of cheating to students' own morality. Although the students find the others do cheating, the students may report that deems because of some reasons such as they also do cheating or overlook other's badness because of their friendship. If she cannot explain why she thinks that the students do reports other's cheating, no matter what, this argument is groundless.

To summarize, this argument is dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author have to give us additional information about actual meaning of the number of cheating which is reported and have to prove this case, decreasing number of cheating which are reported, is because of implement of the academic honor code. To evaluate better, we must know that the reporting system actually works