161. The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this recommendation, the personnel director of Acme Publishing company claims that Acme company would improve its productivity by mandating all employees to take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course in Spruce City. To support her argument, she cited reports of other companies which say that the course is helpful for their productivity. And she says there is a person who improved his reading skills through the course and another person who promoted from an assistant manager to a vice president in under a year. And she reasons that another reason for recommending the course is a small fee, $500. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, she thinks the fee, $500 is relatively cheeping comparing with advantages that can be gotten by enrolling the course. However, this may be expensive or not efficient. For example, $500 does not include the cost of going to Spruce city and as I will mention down, there is no such guarantee that one can develop his reading skills after including the course. If she cannot explain why she thinks the fee is small, this argument is not persuasive.

Secondly, based on the real example of two-person, she thinks a simple time sequence as meaningful causality. This could not be true. For example, the reason for improving reading skills is not because of the course, but he read many books to improve his skills. And the reason for the promotion of another person could not be because of the course or fast reading, because of competence in work or social skills. Even if the cause of this case is the course, it could be a unique case. Until she explains the exact reason for these examples, this argument is not cogent.

Finally, if we concede other problems is true, there is another critical problem. Based on the reports of other companies, she hastily assumes that the reading course would also positively affect to Acme company. Common sense tells us that all companies have their own different characteristics of employees and work conditions or trait of work. For example, other companies could do jobs which need reading skills but, in Acme company, the work could do not need reading skills. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this recommendation more plausible, the personnel director of Acme Publishing company have to explain why she thinks that the benefit of the course of only two people could represent of all graduates of the course and have to give us data in which all possible cost is included. To evaluate better, we must know why she thinks other companies’ situation is similar to the Acme Company