The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. "Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that taking the easy read Speed-reading course will improve productivity in the acme publishing company based on some specific evidences which are reducing the reading time, small price to pay, get better promotion and so on. Therefore, the author assumes that if the company adapts this program for all employees, the productivity will be increased.

However, stated in this way, the recommendation fails to suggest the several key factors, on the basis of which it could be suggested. The evidence that author’s suggestion can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author recommends the easy read Speed -reading course based on the relationships between the other companies improved productivity with after taking the course. This is merely a simple evidence without any detailed and essential information. The author only suggests 'many other companies' but we don't know what kinds of other companies or what companies' statues in the fields. Furthermore, the author also mentions that an employee who graduated the course takes only two hours to read 500 pages, but this case cannot be representative of the effects for the reading course. In addition, another gets promotion as a vice president within a year, but to get promotion, fast reading skill could be not only reason. The employee might have well-qualified skills such as communication, problem-solving, excellent attitudes, leadership and so on.

Second, the author claims that the cost of the reading course is just 500$ and it is a small price to get benefits, but it can be changed depends on what curriculum, materials, instructors, facilities, services and so on. If the employees cannot take the all seminars in Spruce City and it is an essential program to improve reading skills, the cost should be set. Another point of view, if the president of the company invests the reinforcing welfare for employees or increases the wages, it can cause the better productivity to motivate the employees. Therefore, the claims that a small price to pay and get better benefits should be reconsidered other factors. This again is a weak and unsupported reasons as it does not demonstrate any clear evidence. If the comparison of other courses' price suggests or detailed information about the course like curriculum, it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author claims that all employees in Acme publishing company should take the easy read course as a requirement. However, the author’s suggestion is little credible support for benefits and several main factors are raised. The author doesn't consider the feature and main tasks of each department. For example, marketing department or delivery department in the company has different main tasks and roles. Better productivity will be different in each department.

Therefore, without considering the role of the department, it can be wasting money even a small price. Without convincing evidence to these information, the easy read course might be just one of the overworks or burdensome rather than benefits or welfare of employees.