The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. "Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company states that having taken the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course will facilitate the company's output on the basis of 'the more one reads, the more he extracts from it.' He made this recommendation as per the data from the other companies' already-taken course outcome. Before going to the judgment, three questions should be answered in order to validate this recommendation.

First of all, can the companies, which the director mentioned somewhat be related to this company? In other words, Is it possible to make a relation among the companies? The director made a claim that this fast reading course has led to some remarkable outputs for the companies, whose names are not even metioned. It could be possible that those companies are different companies like automobile companies- which is a clear indication that, these companies cannot be related even though they take the same measures to improve productivity. The company could fake those data to flaunt their superfluous hegemony over a certain region. Without further information about the claim, it should be concluded that this scheme would increase productivity for this very Acme company.

Moreover, human brains are not machines though they are compared to them, still it needs sabbatical from daily cacophonies of chores that it is obligated to do so. Will this scheme be the same to all human beings? Or, will taking this scheme be helpful to this company's employees? If yes, then this engenders another question of would the company be able to hire employees, if none are found to be competent already, that would be competent enough to work his or her way through 500-page task per day as per the claim? It is possible that the other amenities such as, a three-week seminar and a lifelong subscription is alluring, but the company should not have a myopic sight rather it should go for a longer vision of what are the germane topics between the companies that already taken this scheme and the Acme company to evaluate this claim made by the personnel director. For instance, an employee can read 500 pages in a day and he has increased the productivity of the company, will he stay in this company if he has been offered a better job? Even if he stays, this tedious, menial and arduous job will make him stultified and enervated in no time for which he or she would have to be replaced or sacked.

Thirdly, this claim has involved all the employees of the company before which the company should assess every person's ability to handle this extra pressure of work incumbent on them. Not everyone is of same capabilities and so, they should be treated in a distinctive way rather forcefully making them take this scheme.

To sum up, this claim needs to be addressed in a more expansive way before concluding it will help the productivity increase, and in real situations, some questions needs to be answered before going to a conclusion; this is, still, a moot point in many ways.