The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument from the personnel director to the president of Acme publishing Company, the author claims that the faster employee can read, the more information they can absorb. Moreover, the author says that it only cost small price to employee. Finally, he suggests that the company should take the Easy Read course. The argument seems to be convinced to people, but we still find out lots of logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments:

To begin with, the author says that the faster employee can read, the more information they can absorb due to the one graduate of the course who was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours. A supposition here is that this report is readily to eveyone. What if the report is arduous for some employee? Not all the employee have the same ability to read the certain report. if the report is the issue about environmental subject. It is not readily for the employee whose major is computer science.

The author claims that it only costs $500 per employee, it is a small price to people. An assumption here is that this price is worth to every employee. However, if the employee who already has an ability to read faster, he may not want to attend this course. That is to say, he will consider that this price is expensive to him, since he does not need to attend this course.

Finally, the author suggests that all the employee who work in the Acme have to take the course. Still, we need more information about this issue. Not every employee have to read lots of report. For example, if the employee who work in the department of marketing, they may not have to take this course because they do not need to read many reports.

To sum up, the author would need to provide more evidence in detail to make valid of the assumptions he mentioned.