Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it might seem logical at the first glance that the author’s argument to terminate the student evaluation of the professors, to enable the students of Omega University to secure the good jobs. However, the argument is flawed. In order to bolster the author’s argument, we need significant amount of evidence.

To begin, the argument is based on the assumption that the professors have started to assign the higher grades to the students since the evaluation by the students have been started; however, such assumption is unwarranted¬– no evidence to support the claim has been provided by the author. There may be plenty of other reasons that the students in Omega University has focused to study for the good grades. Similarly, the professors have used the best effective technique to enhance their study and the good grades. Furthermore, there might the reasons that the university might have enhanced the study materials, library, laboratory and student friendlier environment.

Secondly, the argument is based on the assumption that due to inflation of the grades on Omega University, the students are less likely to success. The author has failed to provide the reasons on this scenario like Alpha University students might have got the career counseling and the intern programs for the selection in the job.

Thirdly, author assumes that Omega university students are getting fewer jobs near around them. On claiming so, the author has failed to administer how many students from the Alpha have got more jobs. Similarly, there might be the instance of Omega University students getting jobs a much better than the Alpha University students’ get. Similarly, there may be the reason that majority of students from Omega University might from the other towns so they were selected for their city for jobs.

In conclusion, due to sweeping generalization of the entire population the author’s argument is not logically convincing. The argument could be strengthened if the author provides the information regarding the professors’ desire to teach the students as well as the students’ awareness in the study before and after evaluation.