“The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant:

It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them stayed home and did not protest. The group that did not protest is much larger and better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city: that the elimination of rent control is not a problem. You should not let the small protest discourage you.”

The political consultant had advised the politician assuming the fact that the resentment shown by the minority does not portray the opinion of the majority of the persons. This judgement made by the advisor fails in many ways because it does not take into account the various social as well as the environmental condition of the protest.

Firstly, the protest was done in the rain, which might discourage many people for participating in the protest and raising their voices. Secondly, elimination of rent control means that the people have to pay more money for their accommodation. Generally, people does not like to pay more money for the same thing than they are already paying. Out of the 20,000 people in the city perhaps 200 people would have found it difficult to make their ends meet, if the rent control was eliminated. For them it might have been a burning issue, but it does not mean it is not affecting the other 19,800 persons of the city. It would affect all of them, but not so much bothering that they would protest in the rain. Thirdly, most people generally have a laid back attitude about protests which in turn causes them not participate actively in protests although the issue bothers them. Fourthly, one more probable cause of many persons not participating in the protest was that they did not consider it was worth protesting against rent control not going to their respective jobs as being absent from their jobs and protesting against rent control elimination and finally perhaps some people believed that protesting against the issue would not have solved the issue.

Taking all these factors into consideration, one could fairly conclude that the argument is very weak and fails in multiple fronts. The assumption that the minority does not always represent the majority sentiment is false. A better way of understanding the fact that whether rent control elimination affects or not the majority people would have been through a more systematic and researched approach. The consultant should have taken into account multiple factors before making such a judgement. These factors include the living costs in the city, the average income of the apartment renters, the jobs of those apartment dwellers, and their average expenses per month. After considering these factors, if it was understood that rent control elimination would not affect the majority people, it can be concluded it was not the opinion of majority people and the politician should not focus on it.