“The following was used as part of an internet advertising company’s appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year’s totals. Furniture Depot’s success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. ”

The internet advertising company is trying to appeal to businesses by citing an example of a certain "Furniture Depot", enjoying an increase in 10% of their sale compared to last year. Although this argument might sound a lucrative way of increasing ones' profitability through enhanced popularity there is some fact missing in the argument which might lead to loss of credibility of the argument.

Firstly, the Furniture Depot has experienced a 10% increase in sales over last year, and during this time they have taken the services of the above mentioned internet service providing company, but nothing is mentioned about the timeframe of the use of internet advertising. If the timeframe is not sufficiently large enough compared to one year timeline, then 10% increase in sales cannot be attributed to the internet advertising company. Secondly, there is no definitive proof of how wide is the reach of their advertisement or in what sites they advertise their adds. So, one cannot judge simply from the argument how much the advertising company has contribution in the increase in the sales. Finally, the best way to advertise the contribution of the advertising company is to portray how many people have clicked on the advertisement and enquired about the Furniture company. Also, there is nothing mentioned about their way of advertising.

Instead of simply stating the percentage increase in sales of Furniture Depot, it could have undertaken a more detailed approach. They could formulated their argument in a more better way by mentioning some more numbers of the above mentioned categories, for example- "Furniture Depot have been using our services, for 9 months. During this time 10,000 people have visited our add. We advertise in all popular websites in an attractive, colorful way which attracts customers. Furniture Depot has seen a rise of their sales over last year by 10%."

So, it can be concluded although the argument is giving a promise of increase of profitability. Lack of numbers and details is rendering its argument weak. A more number oriented and detailed argument would have been better.