The desire of corporations of maximizing profits hurts the general welfare of the nation.

This a fact that is borne by the common masses, that a conglomerate giant, in order to maximize its profits harms the nation in many ways. But, if logical thinking is applied to this fact one would see that it is not the desire to generate more revenue rather, breaking the norms of government as well as inefficiencies or corruption within the system/government that actually hurts a nation.

If we look into some typical corporate giants, they will either be some manufacturing company , or IT/Software company or some Finance related firm. The two main ways a corporate can harm the nation, are harming nations natural reserves or nations economy through financial frauds. In both the cases as much as the corps are responsible so is the government. To operate in a nation a corporate has to follow some guidelines and rules, laid down by the government . Now, either by violating the norms and rules or finding loopholes in them, the corporations harm the general welfare of the country. This could easily be avoided by laying down iron-clad rules, devised by experts of respective fields and honest monitoring of the adherence to these rules by the corporations. If one looks superficially at any accident, pollution or economic fraud caused by a corporation, one would straight way blame the corporation . While there is no way to deny the fact the respective corporation is responsible for the fact by violating the rules, but it would not had been possible if the corporation bypass the norms and rules of the government or the government had done honest, efficient monitoring. It is the nature and wish of each and every corporate to expand and grow financially from this comes the desire the maximize profit, which ultimately leads to rule breaking by some crooked method, which goes wishfully or ignorantly bypassed by the government.

One good but deeply saddening example would be the Chernobyl disaster , which took lives of thousands of people and affecting generations of people . Improper maintenance and cooling of nuclear rods led to the accident. In order to save costs, which was done from the desire to maximize profit led to the terrible accident. But if the auditors had not ignored the working condition of the power plant the accident could have been avoided.

So, it can be concluded it is not the desire the maximize the profits rather the breaking of norms and inefficiencies of the government to prevent such activities is what causes harm to the nations.