The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

The arguments states that every summer the the population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer, which the author assumes makes it highly probable for the people to fall victim to summertime accidents caused by moped accidents.

The argument has not provided sufficient information to support as to why and how these two are interrelated.Furthermore the argument goes on comparing how enforcing limit in their neighbouring town caused the reduction in accidents

without giving plausible reasons for example the author vaguely mentioned the percentage decrease but didnt mention the population of the island.This factor heavily invalidates the hypothesis.

The author continues to draw his hypothesis on many other unfavorable assumptions by linking both the islands and assuming that following the limitations applied by its neighbouring island will bring about similar efficacious result to their island.But the population is a huge factor to ignore on making such assumptions.Futhermore the author didnt provide any statistics or surveys of accidents caused by moped in previous years which might have helped one to draw conclusion.

Accidents can be caused by other factors too,the author failed to consider other factors that might have led to accidents.Population doubling in summertime indicates that people come to the island to enjoy for vacation and spend some leisure time.They might face accidents while fishing in the river,or other fatalities could also lead to accidents.

If there was evidence such as the statistics or surveys that provides enough support to the authors assumption then it would have bolstered the hypothesis, and thus it would have actually led to reduced accidents by decreasing the number of moped rentals.Since there are insufficient answers to fill the blanks,it is not enough to draw conclusion based on baseless assumptions.