The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase".

The topic discusses about a letter regarding the problems faced by the commuters travelling on the Blue Highway during rush-hours. The proposal of the motorists' lobby is to add an additional lane, which the author counters by providing the example of the nearby Green Highway. He later presents the solution of adding a bicycle lane to the Blue Highway, stating that many area residents are keen bicyclists and thus would reduce the traffic significantly. There are certain flaws in the above letter, some of which need to be solved for the solution to work.

Firstly the author states that an additional lane should not be added as the nearby Green Highway had persistent problems even after the addition of the extra lane. Here there are certain inaccuracies as there is no certainty that the solution will fail as it did in case of the Green Highway. Both Highways are different and maybe the problems of Blue Highway would be solved. Also it is the motorist lobby who has given the way to counter and may be they have accurate data for the solution they have presented.

Secondly there is the case of constructing the bicycle lane to encourage the area residents. If the commuters travel long distances to reach their destinations, they may not be able to use bicycles for their commute. Also the highway may not be just used by the nearby area residents. People who do not live there may have no use of the additional bicycle lane.

Thirdly even if the bicycle lane is used there is no mention if the rush-hour traffic will be affected in any significant way. The cost of adding the additional lane may not outweigh the solution it presents. Thus the problem would still persist.

In conclusion the author has to provide data regarding differences between the two highways and to disprove the motorists' opinion giving the required proofs. Also the solution of adding a bicycle lane does not seem to provide the essential solution.