The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The author of this argument recommends that investing in Consolidated Industries, which sales oil as home heating oil is profitable. To justify this recommendation, the author cites the following facts. According to the predictions, this city will experience cold weather in 90 days of years in several coming years. In addition, people have been built many homes in the past years, so the demand for oil will be increased.

Fist, relies on the fact that plenty of houses were built in the past years, the author claims that demand of oil as a fuel will be increased. However, it is not necessarily the case. The author ignores this point that new homes can use better material for isolation, which declines the fuel consumption. Moreover, it is possible that people decide to use new approaches to provide their fuels such as the use solar cells. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author can not justifiably conclude that sales of oil will be enhanced.

Second, the author relies on the fact that clime forecasters predict the cold weather will continue for more years. In fact, people may need more oil in the some years, while the author provides no assurance that this condition will increased for ever. In short, since the argument relies on the limited information, I can not take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

In third place, a serious of problem with this argument rises from the scant statistical information. The author gives not any information about the economic conditions of Consolidated Industries. Indeed, it is possible the cost of production in this factory is high, because of the use old technology. In this way, investing in Consolidated Industries is not profitable. In addition, the author must provide statistical information that this factory can to produce more oil according to increasing the demand.

In sum, this argument is flawed logically and therefore unconvincing it stands. To strengthen the recommendation, the author must provide more statistical information the number of population in this city. In order t evaluate better author’s conclusion, we would know more about feature of these house, and the rate of their fuel consumption.