The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It seems to be logical, at first glance, to agree with the idea that investment in home heating oil will be the proficient business. However, the argument relies on less credible evidence or even assumptions to consolidate its stance. In what follows, I will elaborate them in details.

Citing the last year cold weather, the author averts that this harsh weather condition will be lasting for next years.it may be true that the previous unfavorable cold weather has ephemeral effects on the following weather, yet its long-lasting effects are equivocal. Perhaps, some factors are involved in weather pattern such as earth worming, and el-Nino effects. Based on weather adept beliefs, today weather all over the world are connected. For instance, earth warming leads to decrease in temperature worldly. Therefore, based on proficient weather predictors, and due to diminishing earth ice-mountains, the temperature will be decreased all over the world.

Even we assuming that the northeastern regions will experience colds weather in the future, there are other unanswered questions about the duration and intensity of harsh weather. The argument cites that the northeastern experienced twenty days with the below-temperature, but this does not mean that they experienced harsh or very unfavorable cold conditions. May be resident of the northeastern part experienced fewer days with very harsh weather in the previous years ago as compared with the last year. There is an innumerable number in below-average, and we do not know what temperature they had in the last years. Similarly, we do not have more information about the duration and intensity of cold temperature in the previous years ago in the northeastern as a contrast with the last year. Perhaps, they experience very below temperature with the less day in the previous which means that that condition was so unfavorable and harsh as compared with the last one.

Even if we know more information about the quantity and intensity of cold weather in the previous years ago, there are other flaws towards a correlation between the development of building and heating oil demands. It may be true that when the number of the home increase in the northeastern, they require to access to the heating source to warm them, but this does not mean that this type of the heating source is necessary heating oils. Maybe the denizen of northeastern is concern about fossil fuels deteriorations, and they want to use less other heating sources such as electricity ones. Moreover, maybe the cost of the heating oil is high, and the new residents of the northeastern will not be able to pay more money for their heating oil. Therefore, they are eager to use forest woods to heat them. Also, we do not have additional information about the architecture of the new building. To explain more, some of the modern or new homes are build based on the energy-saving idea. For instance, the location of the windows or door is matched with the sunrise.

To fully evaluate this argument, we require to have additional information, the first piece of information we need is the knowing world weather pattern and its relation with local weather. To better assessment, we also require to know more intensity and duration of cold weather in the previous years ago. Finally, to improve the argument as a whole, it is greatly recommended that the author provide more information about new building structures.