The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter, the author recommends investment with consolidated industries, one of whose major business is residential heating oil, because of the foreseen increasing heating oil requirement. To support his/her claim, the author cites that the weather predication by sight of continual inclement climate in winter as well as a mass of new house construction in this region. Quite persuasive though the argument seems at first glance, there actually exists several lines of reasoning that need further analysis. The author’s recommendation could end up pretty reliable or conversely untenable in the end, perching on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author’s recommendation mainly relies on the accurate level of weather forecast, a question that is not answered yet. It’s possible that such predication falls to totally wrong, because the Earth have really complex system and can change unpredictably. Without additional information to evaluate the potential climate pattern and winter climate, it could be likely that the region aforementioned actually experience a warm winter. If this turns out true, the weather prediction could prove unable and the author’s recommendation seems lose its ground accordingly. By contrast, any valid proof that such weather prediction is well grounded could strengthen the author’s recommendation.

Granted that the regional climate will indeed be extremely cold and given the a slew of new houses are on the way in this region, whether the oil demand could raise up in response to harsh climate and expected increasing population should need a second look. Behind the author’s assumption lie two implications. The first one is that local residents could like to stay in this very region, rather than moving. However, the probability that people are tempted to migrate to a warmer region, such as southern part of America, could not be precluded in advance. Yet, if the author presents more robust evidence to demonstrate that people are inclined to keep a sedentary lifestyle, regardless of weather factors, the author’s viewpoint will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that oil as traditional fuel source will keep its major position in the market. Although people traditional resort to the fossil oil as their heating energy source, the prospects that new energy might emerge in the future could be considered and addressed. For instance, experimental heating approaches driven by nuclear or solar energies could enter the market and compete with oil. Rather than stimulating, such phenomenon could further vitiate the traditional oil demand, and therefore, render the author’s recommendation much less advisable. On the other hand, the increasing oil demand could be expected from the robustly dominant position in the residential heating market, thus creating more favorable market position for consolidate industries.

Last but not least, even if we can acknowledge for a moment that the increasing oil demand rise up in response to harsh climate and increasing population, it’s unclear about whether consolidate industries could seize on such opportunity. this answer to this question actually depends on many other factors, such as management efficiency, recruitment potential, which are open to different probabilities. If Consolidate Industries is poorly managed and fraught with various corruptions, it’s unlikely to prefigure that it could be hugely profitable and worth investment.

To summarize, given that the continual inclement winter climate and increasing population might have potential tos drive up the oil demand, this is still a conclusion that can be derived from the information provided in this passage. Even if the oil demand uproar as expected, the financial performance of consolidate industries still stem from multiple factors mentioned above. If and only if more unequivocal and substantiated information could be presented out can we efficiently evaluate the author’s recommendation and draw out a rationally sound conclusion.