The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter above, the author predicts that there will be an increase in oil demand and thus investment in Consolidated Industries would meet this demand, based on the climate forecasts in the northwest United States and recent population growth there. While the advice to invest Consolidated Industries to address the problem of lacking oil seems plausible, there are unsubstantiated assumptions in the reasoning process that would, to some extent, jeopardize the credibility of the advice per se.

To begin with, the author assumes that the ninety-day below-normal temperature of last heating seasons is abnormal without offering more temperature data of that area. If it is anything but abnormal that this area keeps having a below-normal temperature no less than ninety days, then there is no need to increase the oil for heating because due to the duration. Moreover, the author also founds the advice on a fiver-year timespan forecast. However, it is too cursory and unscrupulous to utilize such data, for the climate forecasts of a distant future is untenable. Therefor, that assuming the present forecasts could be valid for next five years actually undermine the advice.

Simultaneously, the author of the letter supposes that the population growth accompanied by more houses would augment the need for heating oil. However, if the newly built houses have utilizes state-of-art warming method that needs less oil than old builds, then the advice will be superfluous. As a matter of fact, most of the new building perform excellent in keeping the interior heat. In addition, even though these buildings are not designed for heat insulation, the author is too perfunctory to believe these building will continue the use of oil. If the new buildings switch to other energy, then the demand of the oil will not increase.

Last but not least, the advice for client to invest Consolidated Industries is untenable because the assumption that an increase demand will benefit the company is not well supported. Even though there will be increasing demand for oil, the company may not be the best choice for local residents. For instance, if the product quality of the company can't satisfy the local people, they would purchase oil form other companies. In this scenario, the clients will be reluctant to invest the company. Therefore, unless the author could provide information why the local residents would choose Consolidated Industries, then the assumption would not champion the advice effectively, resulting into clients inclination for this investment.

In summary, the letter need seek more information to attest those assumptions. The letter has to inform the clients of the credibility of those information to uphold the advice. The necessity of oil as heating material should be considered. Moreover, the author should include proof that the oil will be chose by the new population as their nwe house heating material. And, the popularity of the company, Consolidated Industries, should be taken into account, which is essential for clients to decide about the investment.