The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The author of this missive states that Adams Realty is superior when compared to Filtch Realty, and therefore counsels a friend to use the former when selling a house. Some arguments are provided in order to reach this conclusion, such as the fact that Adams Realty has more agents, its average revenue last year was higher and that those houses listed with this firm are sold faster; moreover, this last argument is bolstered further by the author as his or her own experience is provided. Although at first it might seem like a well-conducted argumentation, when subject to careful examination it is revealed that there are some undisclosed assumptions as well as several instances of poor reasoning. Consequently, the argument as it is provided fails to be persuasive and the validity of its conclusion is, thus, questioned.

First of all, the author carelessly assumes that the product with which botch firms are dealing is the same. It should be noted that those houses Filtch Realty firm is trying to sell could have completely different characteristics when compared to those Adams Realty deals with. Indeed, the product that Filtch Realty is selling could be less attractive to buyers than that of Adams Realty. Perhaps the houses Filtch Realty can sell are situated far away from the city center, this could lead to lower overall sales if the town is heavily centralized. Without proper information about what Filtch and Adams Realty houses are like, one cannot conclude anything; it is of capital relevance that this is correctly addressed in order to be able to obtain a correct conclusion.

Secondly, the author provides more evidence to support the claim by stating that Fitch firm has less agents, 25, than Adams, 40. Following this line of thought, the author also says that average revenue was higher for Adams than for Fitch. Although it might seem reasonable to guide ourselves following these facts, it should be considered that Adams’s revenue is just slightly higher than Fitch’s bearing in mind that the former has almost twice as many agents as the latter. Indeed, this could mean that Fitch’s agents are more efficient as its rate of revenue per agent is, actually, higher.

Lastly, the author gives his or her own example as a support of the claim. In spite of this former experience, it should be noted that the conditions of the home market might have changed in the time that has passed, ten years, since the first house was sold until the second one was. This should be also considered in order not to reach biased conclusions.

In conclusion, although if, when carelessly read, the argument might seem solid, it falls apart when properly evaluated. The fact that it is assumed that both firms deal with the same type of product, in addition to Fitch’s agents possibly being more effective in selling houses than those of Adams, as only absolute values are given, and that there is a complete disregard about the chronological conditions of the two different houses the author has sold, render the argumentation unpersuasive. If these flaws are addressed following the guidelines that have been stated above, the conclusion would be bolstered and become much more convincing.