The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The letter from homeowner to friend states that there 2 leading real estate firms in our town and they are Adams Realty and Fitch Realty, in which Adams Realty is superior. And he consists of 40 real estate agents and Fitch has only 25.And compared each others revenues and listed as $168,00 for Adams and $144,00 for Fitch.Then he added his own experience of selling his homes with both of them,but is satisfied only with Adams, who sold his home early compared to Fitch.And provided an advice that if any chance to sell your house and your are interested to gain a good price consult Adams Realty is his advice. I find this argument absolutely illogical, defective and irrational due to its inherent weaknesses.

Weaknesses in this Argument:

Firstly, the assumption made by the homeowner regarding the leading real estate firms in that particular town as Adams Realty and Fitch Realty. How can someone assume that a particular firms in the town are leading without any proper evidence. And he even not explained about the other firms in the town to justify his statement. For, this I find it illogical.

Secondly, the homeowner assumed that Adams Realty is superior compared to the Fitch Realty based only the revenues and the staff of the individual. There might be a possible case that Adam has inherited the fortune from his parents and Fitch earned his own fortune. Even though both of their revenues are comparable. So, I find this assumption as defective.

Thirdly, homeowner assumed that Adams Realty is the best firm based on his previous experience with both of them. And the house sold by the Fitch Realty may have legal allegations and house may not be in the urban region,but house sold by Adams Realty is in urban region with no allegations. So, this might be a possible case and this case is assumed because he didn't provided any further evidence for assuming this.

Finally, based on the above assumptions which can be contradicted equally and even though he is advising for the friend to consult the Adams Realty for good price in significant time seems to be an irrational and illogical statement.

My Remarks:

As I have unravelled the defects in the argument. I strongly recommend the homeowner to withdraw his suggestion regarding the advice,and conduct research on the subject before it can provide any genuine advice.