The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author , at first, compared two real estate firms on the basis of response time, number of employees and revenue generated last year, and suggested his friend to chose Adams Realty because it is better in terms of the above mentioned factors. His argument looks quite convincing, but have numerous holes and unjustified presumptions which should have been considered while making the argument.

The first quality of Adams Realty the author mentioned is its promptness: time taken to sell a listed home, based on his experience of selling a home last year. But his comparison of experience of last year and 10 years ago looks quite absurd. Because the 10 years is a huge difference of time. Perhaps the overall market 10 years before was dull and slow paced which could not be compared with today's fast paced market. Or one could argue that the area of author's concern was not well settled 10 years ago, due to which people were not interested to buy that home. Additionally, the market trend 10 years ago was not as supportive as of today's modern technological era, in that case, the time comparison is not justifiable as the author failed to consider this assumption.

The second basis of the argument is better profit given by the Adams Realty. The author predicted better profit on the basis of the revenues generated by the two firms in comparison. The comparison seems suspicious. Perhaps the profit of the lower revenue firm was far greater than that of higher revenue. In that case, the Fitch Realty performed better than the Adams Realty, and author understood wrongly. Furthermore, the author assumed about the better price of a single home on the basis of average revenue. It might be possible that author gained better profit from the home listed to Fitch Realty. As author did not mention anything, the reader could not know anything about it.

In addition to this, author did not give the area specific details. It might have been the case that the home sold by the Fitch Realty was in the area the people did not want to live due to any reason, and the area of other one was quite helpful to live in. And that is the reason behind the longer time taken by the Fitch Realty. Perhaps if author listed that house to Adams Realty, their agents could not have sold it because of the toughness of that area.

In short the author based his argument on several unjustified suppositions which should be answered/considered and evaluated properly before acting upon his advice.