Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every society desperately needs rules and regulations to live a better life. The absence of laws could lead to pathetic consequences, like, downright chaos where everybody starves of his rights and have a strong indignation of not being treated righteously. Therefore, laws have been designed with the first inception of society. But they evolve with the needs of society. As the society grows, like from a small town to a city or a country, the old laws are incapable of resolving the issues faced by the bigger and advanced society. Hence, laws cannot have the flexibility to encompass the variety of situations and should be amended to fulfill the requirements of the present times.

The primary reason behind the inflexibility of laws is that they are made by the human. And human does not only prone to errors but also is unable to foresee but the near future. For example, the legislators of the horse and buggy times could not even think of today’s automobiles while designing the laws of traffic. So, they made laws as per the demands of those times. As mentioned above, these laws are now just a mere history, and have nothing to do with the needs of the society. Similarly, the laws made upon the invention of automobiles are now going to become obsolete with the idea of self-driving car which demands the overall redesign of traffic rules. Same is the case of rules dealing the crimes. With the evolution of science, the criminal activities now have totally changed. The idea of cyber-crime and breach of security are inconceivable to law makers of past times. Hence, laws are made with intent to cover the issues of the near future because human unfortunately got a myopic nature.

However, the flexibility of laws lies in its ability to be amended. The constitution of every country, and the rules and regulations of almost every organization, has been amended tremendously with the passage of time. It has been seen widely that the organizational laws about hiring and work procedure modify as per the incidents and their consequences experienced. Like, previously organizations usually hired on the basis of the technical requirements, but the need to communicate and manage the issues and tasks efficiently let the organizations decide the include these skills in their hiring process as well. Likewise, no one could refute the constitutional continual amendments which have been made after the discussion in the parliament. Hence, the laws can be modified and molded to enlarge the circular area of its coverings.

On the contrary, the laws made by the creator of the world are flexible enough to fulfill the needs of the mankind till the day of judgement. They have this elasticity for two reasons: firstly, they have been made the by the God without human intervention, secondly, they are quite fundamental. Like, it has been said in the book of Bible and Quran that alcohol is prohibited. So, all kinds of alcoholic beverages are covered by this basic rule.

In short, legislation is the primary need of society, but to make the error free and all time applicable law is impossible because human nature, that is why they have been made with the right of amendment in mind.