Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Students step in universities with passion to culminate the highest point in their fields. But many of them are demotivated by the rigid requirements to pass numerous courses out of their interests. Therefore,universities should not bound every student to pursue courses out of the area of research.

Courses which has no bearing on student's field of study divert the student's attention from research intense courses to irrelevant courses. For example, student of Electronics engineering wanted to research in embedded systems does not only feel burdened while taking courses like psychology and English literature, but also ponder over his time which he could spent playing with system on chips and development boards. To make it more serious, professors give cumbersome assignments too. Neither those lectures nor those assignments would help him/her in designing instruction set architectures , and Machine learning and artificial intelligence algorithms. The feelings of English literature student are same while resolving mysteries behind blackholes and covalent bonding. Hence, irrelevant courses do not add anything a hindrance to research thoroughly.

Out of the scope courses does not only become hindrance but also lengthen the degree time. If university officials do not make it a requirement to pass the degree, students could complete their degrees in shorter time. Graduating in less time has many positive consequences. Like, graduates could contribute to their field earlier than usual. Also by earning money, these folks could contribute to their families and society earlier. Therefore, universities should look upon these consequences before making any rigid policy regarding courses out of the field.

However, the mentioned claim would be beneficial for the students who are not aware of their interests ahead of pursuing the degree, or wanted to indulge in other courses as well.

Thus, universities undergoing on mentioned principle should look upon the consequences of such a rigid requirement, otherwise society and the relevant professions would continue to bear the loss.