The following appeared in a letter from the manager of a rock band named Double Rice. "One year ago, tickets for Double Rice's concerts in stadiums around the country took, on average, at least 24 hours to sell out, if they sold out at all. But the band has been enjoying a surge in nationwide popularity among 14 to 25 year olds, and the 30,000 tickets for a recent concert in Megalopolis sold out in 12 minutes. Clearly the ticket sales in Megalopolis are a result both of the band's increased popularity and of the advertising campaign run in Megalopolis by the Ad Lib advertising agency. Thus, in order to ensure that the band's success in Megalopolis is repeated across the country, the band should hire Ad Lib to duplicate the Megalopolis ad campaign on a nationwide scale. " Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

The author of this argument claims that the band should hire Ad Lib to increase its sales and fame in national scale. To support this recommendation the speaker cites the following facts. (1) One years age, this band sold concert’s tickets in around the country at the 24 hours, while the recent concert’s tickets in Megalopolis were sold in 12 minutes. (2) The author believes that increasing their popularity between 14 to be 25 years old is due to the advertising campaign run in Megalopolis by the Ad Lib advertising agency. (3) So, this agency can help the band in the nationwide. Close scrutiny of each of these factors, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, the argument relies on the assumption that the band sold more tickets, because of the use effective advertisements. Conversely, it entirely is possible that its high sales were due to other factors such as the lower price, concert time, the number of people who live in the Megalopolis, or even concert venue. In deed, if the concert held in the countryside, where people did not have access public transportation, and as a result; the bans could not sell more. Moreover, the ban may hold the concert in summer, when most people have enough spare time to go to concerts. Since the author has not identified the main cause of high sells, I cannot believe that advertising is the foremost cause for that.

Second, base on the fact that a certain advertising agency helped the band to increase their reputation in the Megalopolis, the author infers that this band should use this agency’s advertisements in nationwide scale. Although, common sense informs me that this relationship exists, there is no warrant to show that this agency can assist the band to gain achievements in the national scale.

All above evidence supports this fact the argument is logically flawed and therefore, unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the author must provide more information about the number of sold thickets in past years. In order to assess this recommendation, it would be better to know about all factors, which are influential on increasing their reputation and sales. Moreover, the author should identify that how he concludes the band can be successful in the nationwide by hiring this agency.