The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation made by the owner of Sunnyside Towers that reducing the rate of water from the shower heads across all the twenty floors would further lead to increased cost savings which would in turn increase the profits seems very logical, and is indeed a very viable recommendation if supported with enough evidence. However, the owner of Sunnyside Towers did not make a good enough case for his recommendation, to conclude that it would have the predicted result. While it is true that a reduced water rate is likely to reduce the cost of water, the argument is based on assumptions that do not have a logical relationship to the recommendation, and some questions would need to be asked in order to decide whether reducing the showerheads across the 20 floors would lead to more profit.

Firstly, does the high cost of water result only from the rate at which the water flows from the shower heads in the buildings? In his argument, the owner of the building did not explicitly state if it has been proven that the showerheads are the only points through which the residents use water. For example, there could be other taps inside the building and even around the compound through which residents use water. This other taps would still be operating at their initial flow rate and would still be contributing to the high cost of water. If this is the case, then the high cost of water cannot only be imputed to the rate of flow of water from the showerheads, but also from different sources. Therefore, reducing the rate at which water flows from the showerheads in the building would not significantly reduce the cost spent on water.

Also, are the rates of water usage on the first five floors commensurate with the rates on the other fifteen floors? The owner of the building prematurely assumes that reducing the rate of flow of water on five floors would reduce the cost of water, and based on this, further concludes that reducing the rate of water across the twenty floors would lead to greater profit. While it may be true that reducing the water rate on first five floors would reduce the cost of water, the owner of the building did not provide any proof that shows that the rate at which water is used on every part of the building is comparable. It is possible that even if the rates of the showerheads are reduced, the overall water daily water usage does not decrease as the owner expects. Hence, the owner would need to prove that what worked for the first five floors is likely to work for the other floors.

Furthermore, is there a certainty that the complains about low water pressure would not significantly increase, and lead to the residents moving out of the building? The owner acknowledges that people have begun to complain about the low water pressure, this suggests that the residents are not comfortable with the new development. Also, this change has lasted for only a month, therefore with time, the complains might increase. Since the owner intends to effect this change across other floors, people might begin to feel uncomfortable and move out of the building. For example, if a particular complain about a fault has been made and nothing is done about it for a while, the residents might feel that the owner is unconcerned about their comfort, and begin to find other alternatives. If this happens, instead of making profit through water cost saving, he would incur a loss since he would no longer have the tenants he used to have.

A reduction in the rate of water across the other fifteen floors is likely to elicit the desired result of increasing profit since the water usage might reduce, the owner of Sunnyside building did not provide enough evidences to corroborate the fact that his recommendation would lead to the desired result of increasing profit. If the above questions are answered by the owner of the building, then the owners recommendation can be adequately evaluated.