The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. “Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increase time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation provided by the business manager of the television (tv) station to restore the time devoted to weather and local news as a result of evidences such as increased complaints from viewers and reduced number of advertisers seems to be valid when observed on a pheripheral level. However, before this recommendation can be fully evaluated to be a valid solution to the existing problem, various evidences muct be presented and analysed.

Firstly, the business manager did not state clearly the details of the complaints received from the viewers. Though, he stated that the complaints were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news, he didnt state if the complaints had to do with increased time spent on airing those programs. Basically, different complaints could arise, ranging from too much time being spent on airing them, lack of clarity of the message passed, lateness on the part of the tv station and so on. If any of this reasons order than increased time constituted the complaints from the viewers, then the business manager's argument would be greatly weakened.

Furthermore, the business manager, in his argument, failed to present reasons why the advertisers have cancelled their contracts with them. various reasons could lead to the cancellation of contracts by the advertisers. For example, an advertiser could cancel a contract if he is not getting the desired coverage or reach from that particular tv station. A contract could also be cancelled on the basis of unfavourable terms of services, poor advertisement quality, or even an increased advertising fee. These, and many more are valid reasons why an advertising contract could be cancelled. Thus, the business manager needs to provide further evidence that the cancelled contracts had to do with the new program schedule, thus the argument can be further evaluated.

Also, the business manager needs to provide a clear evidence of the number of viewers that watched the late-night news program before the change and the number of viewers that watched the late-night news program after the change. This would give a clear indication on whether the number of viewers actually increased, dropped or remained constant after the change. By so doing, the effect that the change has on the number of viewers would be clearly seen and the recommendation that returning to the previous program schedule would attract more viewers would be better evaluated.

In conclusion, the business managers recommendation that the time previously devoted to weather and local news be restored may be valid, but this recommendation cannot be properly and logically evaluated until the above evidences have been presented and analysed.