The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

12:04

The author of the letter claims that the high school should sponsor a mandatory driving program and provides several reasons that upholds his/her claim. However, the letter is rife with holes and assumptions and the mistakes should be eliminated in order for the author to maintain his claim with warrant. The flaws the author made would be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author assumes that the teenagers lack of driving education because their parents are too busy to instruct their children themselves. However, the author needs to clarify how he/she collected such information. If the author conducted an online survey only for parents who were known to be busy, the data may not be representative for all parents who have teenagers. Furthermore, the parents who complained that they are busy may already have applied their children for a driving education course that are provided from a driving related institution. Also, the teenage drivers who caused traffic accidents may not come from a household whose parents are busy. It may actually be an opposite situation. Maybe the parents who were not busy and had enough time to instruct their children about driving simply did not do so due to lack of interest. Children coming from such household could be the majority of the causes of teenage accidents.

Furthermore, the author of the letter also assumes that parents who are tight in their budget are the reason why teenagers are causing such accidents in and around Centerville. However, maybe the children who come from such household don't even have a car to drive and did not cause any traffic accidents. Or else, even if they did own a car, their parents might have been cautious and already instructed their children not to cause any accidents because it would require extensive amount of money. If this is the case, high school providing driving lessons for these teenagers is not necessary. There is also a possibility that the two driving schools in Centerville are actually free and teenagers coming from a tight budget household already applied for driving lessons. Maybe, teenagers who have rich parents were the actual main cause of accidents that involve teenage drivers because their parents were okay with paying for all repair costs.

Last but foremost, the accidents that involve teenage drivers for the past two years may not have been due to teenagers receiving lack of driving education. Maybe the actual causes of such accidents were because the road condition deteriorated and it became much harder to drive properly. Or maybe, numerous number of cars started to pour in and around Centerville, which makes the possibility of cars being involved in accidents increase. The author would have to investigate the reason why the number of teenage car accidents occurred during the past two years.

To sum up, even though the author's claim and evidences upholding the claim might seem plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the letter from various points of view, it is confirmed that the claim is unwarranted. For the author to bolster his/her claim with clear warrant, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of haste assumptions and provide clear information about the actual causes of the teenage car accidents.