The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article, Dr.Karp, claims that Dr.Field's conclusion and his use of method that brought out the conclusion is invalid, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the article is rife with holes and assumptions, which needs to be eliminated for Dr.Karp to maintain his/her claim with clear warrant. Such flaws will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, Dr.Karp indicates that by interviewing the children, he/she found out that children are reared by their biological parents. However, he/she needs to clarify the numerical amount of interviews conducted and whether the assorted interviewees are representative enough for the whole children. If the interviews were conducted only on two to three children among hundreds of children in the village, then the results may be unreliable. Moreover, Dr.Karp needs to clarify how the interviewees were selected. Maybe he/she conducted interviews only to those who were close to and relied only on their parents. For both cases mentioned in the paragraph, the collected results would be invalid to be generalized to all children in the village.

Furthermore, the author of the article starts with a premise, believing that the way children are reared must not have changed since twenty years ago. However, this is clearly an unwarranted premise. Maybe the children's behaviors were affected by the entire village twenty years ago but has changed gradually and is now influenced only by their biological parents. The conventional behavior can always change if there are alterations that need to be made. Maybe other adults' perspectives were reliable in the past because all the adults had equal passion to teach lessons to every children regardless of the biological status. This might have changed as time fled by because adults are impartial nowadays and are only discerned with their own biological children. If this is the case, both Dr.Karp's and Dr.Field's view and their methods are valid and asserting that Dr.Karp's conclusion and his/her observation-centered approach is invalid would be unwarranted.

Last but not least, children talking about their biological parents more than other adults does not always indicate that their actions are reared only by their biological parents. Maybe children conversed about their parents much more because they felt more affectionate towards their parents, but still respected all the adults' perspectives. There is also a possibility that children only mentioned about the negativeness of their parents' views and did not wish to be influenced by them. Dr.Karp would have to provide the readers substantial information about the interview results, whether the children were talking about how they admired and wished to pursue as their parents wished or not.

To sum up, even though Dr.Karp's claim seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the article from various points of view, it is confirmed that his/her claim is unwarranted. He/she would have to eliminate the flaws of starting with an invalid premise, making haste assumptions, and providing lack of information about the interview in order to maintain his/her claim.