The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Driver’s education courses are offered throughout the United States whether through a local school district or through the state government. Centerville has previously had accidents that involved teenage drivers and the author believes that a mandatory program sponsored by the high school will be the solution to this problem. It is stated that teenagers are in accidents because they do not attend a driving school and it is also stated that a sponsored, mandatory program is the only solution to this serious problem. On the other hand, it holds an unstated assumption that any driving instruction would create safer teenage drivers. The author has left many stated and unstated assumptions, that in the case of these being unwarranted, would weaken the argument made.

The author explicitly states that teenagers are involved in automobile accidents because they do not attend a driver’s education course because their parents are on a tight budget and cannot afford to pay for the classes. What if the teenagers are involved in these accidents because of the lack of awareness made by other drivers? This is a world where distractions are everywhere whether it is day dreaming out of the car windows or tweeting a favorite song lyric via the iPhone. Just because teenagers were involved in the accidents does not mean they were the ones in fault. Many adults now a days tend to be distracted drivers just as much as teenagers.

Secondly, it is left unstated but assumed that Centerville teenagers who participate in the mandatory driver’s course will automatically make them safe drivers. Just because a person attends a safety class on driving does not mean that they will take the knowledge learned in class and apply it to their reality. For example, an avid hunter attends an annual hunter’s safety course in order to ensure safety during the season, but later on while on a hunting expedition, he sees a deer far away and believes he can make the shot on a whim, but does not follow any precautions that he learned in the safety course because he wanted the kill.

Not only is it unstated that instruction in the first place will guarantee to make them safer drivers, but the author says that the proposed program that would be mandatory and effective is the only solution to the problem involving teenage driving accidents. Out of the problem solving world, this is not the only solution available to the Centerville residents. Perhaps another proposed solution would be to host a driver’s education class built into the high school requirements at Centerville. The instruction would be allowed to take two to three students out on the road during class time and teach them how to drive in reality. Another solution would be to limit the times that teenagers are allowed on the road. Some states require that newly licensed drivers are only allowed to drive between the hours of 6AM-10PM Sunday through Thursday, but is extended for an hour on Friday and Saturday nights. These proposed solutions are another alternative to the author’s proposal.

All in all, the author created a valid argument about the teenage drivers in Centerville but left some unstated and clearly stated assumptions that could be proved to be wrong and thus weaken or destroy the argument. Teenagers are not the only prospect of the accidents but a mandatory course can never guarantee the teenagers driving safety. Also, the proposed solution is not the only solution to the problem of Centerville. The author should increase their research and propose a solution that did not leave any stated or unstated assumptions.