The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument,One of the owner's cheese businesses, which has locations around the United States, feels that the most popular type of cheese offered in their newest site in Wisconsin is domestic cheddar, and thus believes that the company should cut costs by restricting inventory and focusing on domestic cheese. Although the author's choice appears to be arbitrary and hurried, he omitted critical details that would have aided in making the judgement.

Domestic cheese sales surged a year ago as new outlets debuted. This does not mean that domestic cheese sales have increased in other stores around the country. Rural communities have grown accustomed to purchasing indigenous cheese, and hence the new enterprises are likely to be established in that type of area. Given that the data for last year only include imports, it is probable that sales of imported cheese will increase in the near future as consumers acquire accustomed to the flavour. Additionally, these locations are likely to be in areas where customers are impoverished and unable to purchase expensive imported cheeses. The advocate has made an unjust request that the company discontinue selling a number of its foreign cheeses.

Another flaw in the reasoning is the assumption that consumer surveys conducted by the company's cheese outlets will replicate those conducted by Cheeses of World magazine. The company's customers are not even addressed. Additionally, there is no information regarding the location of the survey. Was the poll conducted in towns where the company operates cheese stores? While the respondents to the survey may be correct, the author has not established a correlation between poll respondents and people who purchase domestic cheeses at the company's cheese stores. The poll's results may have little to do with members' preferences, which the organisation believes are important to their sales.

Additionally, the author believes that the study conducted by the journal Cheeses of the World, which indicates that more people are choosing domestic cheeses, is accurate. Despite its apparent reliability, the author should conduct additional research before acting on this material. The bulk of customers are undoubtedly from countries other than the United States. These nations may be one of the countries from which the US cheese retailer purchases cheese. Americans may also choose cheese manufactured in these regions, which may be quite good. As a result, the retailer may be hesitant to halt cheese imports. The author should do background checks on the respondents.

The author has generated some hypotheses based on the prior examination, but he has yet to substantiate them with data. The author should investigate why domestic cheeses outsold imported cheeses in the most recent store, as established by a study done by the Cheeses of the World book, by examining the storage conditions and the duration of each stock before it is sold. As a result, the argument will now be valid.