The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive

new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen

the argument.

The author of the argument claims that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories to expand their in campus housing facilities. The main reason behind that the increasing trend of students enrollment in the college. Although the conclusion of the argument seemingly looks a convincing one, in reality, the conclusion that the author makes is flawed with some unwarranted assumptions. Unless providing sufficient evidence to substantiate the assumptions, the argument is still fallacious and open to debate. This essay shall delve into these unstated assumptions and discuss what specific evidence are required to strengthen the argument.

To begin, the author of the argument is largely dependent on the perception that the current trend of enrollment, which is following an upward pattern, will follow the same pattern for the next 50 years. However, the author has not cited any authentic past evidence that if an educational institution follows a pattern, this pattern will continue for more than 50 years. Furthermore, the students' enrollment of Buckingham College can also follow a reverse pattern in the upcoming years, resulting a decline in the students enrollment. So, without having any reliable past evidence for the student enrollment pattern of Buckingham College, the author's assumption that the number of students enrollment will double over the next 50 years is understated.

Secondly, another unstated assumption that the author makes is what is happened in the recent years in off-campus housing is the same as what will happen in off-campus housing in the upcoming years. But, this is not necessarily true. It can be like that the average rent of an apartment is abated in the immediate years, and students of Buckingham College opt to stay off campus.

Besides, the author has only assumed that students merely choose their living-off-campus or on-campus-on the basis of cost. However, there is no influential information regarding this issue. If the majority of the students of Buckingham College prefer to live off-campus, the proposal of building new dormitories may be somewhat unnecessary. So, in the absence of authentic evidence regarding the issue, the argument is flawed.

To conclude, discussing all the existing fallacies regarding the above stated argument, it can be said the argument needs to provide more reliable evidence in support of the assumptions that are unwarranted. Unless citing enough authentic reasons regarding the unstated assumptions, the conclusion fails to convince and open to debate.