The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckinham college claims the college should build a number of new dormitories as its enrollment is growing and the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen reccently.The director also assumes that attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more into this college. However, before the plan is implemented, the director needs to address some factors to overcome any possible flaw.

Firstly, the directors claim that the enrollment would be double over the next 50 years is based on the current trends. there is no guarantee that the same rate of increment will continue for the next 50 years. Hence, the assumption that the enrollment will double by that time is flawed. The scenario may face an opposite situation with a decrease in enrollment in the upcoming years for various reasons, thus making the existing dormitory space not inadequate.

Secondly, the fact that the average rent for an apartment has risen in recent years does not ensure that it would continue for a long time. perhaps a lot of students' need for renting an apartment would make the rent cheaper for bigger profit. students may prefer sharing an apartment which would not be as expensive as it seems.

Finally, attractive new dormitories might not have any connection with enrolling more prospective students to the college. prospective students would much likely prefer academic factors like college ranking, educational quality, experienced faculty members while choosing any college for enrollment other than the view of its dormitory.

In conclusion, there are many flawed assumptions which needs proper evaluation with evidence before using the proposed plan. it is possible that an alternative solution exists, perhaps a better one. The director of housing must analyze the possible solutions prudently and then implement the best course of action.