The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In his memo the new vice presidents provides the idea to resume the production of alpaca overcoats, because he sees the perspective and predict the success for Sartorian. Though the arguments he provides might look credible on the first glance, the memo indeed contains several logical flaws.

First of all, the president looks at the popularity of these overcoats which happened five years ago, and he says that the high demand will be expected. Though, some people aired discontent when the production stopped, we cannot be sure that the overcoats will meet high demand again. The reason to thinks so is that over these five years fashion trends could have changed greatly, thus customers will not be interested in the overcoats anymore. This also might be the reason why other competitors do not produce this product. Thus, further research should be carried out to see whether any shifts in fashion have happened since that time.

Furthermore, the question of the product quality is doubtful. Would the current quality be superior enough and affordable for customers? First of all, the company should be assert that the new supplier is reliable and will be able to provide a high quality of the required material. Moreover, the final price of the product has to be not so high to attract customers. Reading the memo, it is unclear why the company could not find a supplier during many years. The reason for that might be extra high prices on the fabric, thus the only one Sartorian found can also sell it at a fancy price.

The last thing we should investigate in more details is that how popular the overcoats were five years ago. If the company intends to increase its profits than ever before, the memo has to contain the statistics and more numbers. Five years ago, the company might spend the smaller amount of money on the production, because the fabric was not so expensive. Otherwise, times flies, and now the company can spend more money on the same process. Thus, it is questionable whether the production will be profitable or not.

Based on the provided argument in this essay, the suggestion to restart producing alpaca overcoats needs to be supported with more strong evidences, since currently there are not reasons to assume that the company will increase its profits.