The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The presented argument rests on a large number of unstated assumptions, and thus requires lot of evidence to be presented to verify these assumptions before taking any actions. The argument references a natiowide survey, but does not mention the details of the survey, number of participants, relevance of topic of survey etc. Also, the argument presents and uses some part of the result from the survey vaguely, like mentioning preference of "large" family room and kitchen, without any reference to what "large" means. The argument also gives a comparison with a national average for prices of houses, but does not justify the relevance of its application here, and does not give sufficient details about what the average measures, to justify a comparison. If the national average is taken using all houses in the country and the competitors construct luxury homes, the comparison becomes irrelevant, as anyway the prices will be above the national average, regardless of any special feature added. This casts doubt on effect of the special feature, i.e. large family rooms and kitchen.

The applicablity of any observation to the competitors is not well justified to apply suitably the company. There are a lot of factors like construction quality, size of the firms, locality of the projects, facilities provided etc. that could make a difference between the two firms, and make any observation for one firm not necessarily applicable for the other. Thus, it is not all necessary that the inclusion of larger living rooms and kitchen would boost the sales and profits of the firm, as the evidence required to support the claim is inadequate. Also, the inclusion of state-of-the-art kitchens in any house is another inference made, which is not justified properly. Even if we assume that larger family rooms and kitchens as a whole increase buyers' preference, individual effect of each change is not stated and thus cannot be assumed to positive.

Another side to be considered is the targeted customer base of the firm. The argument references to some buyer feedback regarding the lower need for a dining room. No details regarding the buyers like economic position, locality of the construction scheme, cost of the bought houses, the time when the feedback was received are not mentioned. These are critical factors which can make the feedback valid or invalid. It is assumed by the firm without stating that the buyers are similar to the ones they are targeting for their future schemes, and have assumed validity of their feedback.

Thus, variety of crucial factors are assumed without stating in the argument, and thus can make the argument invalid if any of the assumptions made do not hold.